Interchange Fees

Interchange Fees are payable between the retailer (known as a self-Acquirer) or the retailers’ financial institution (known as the Acquirer) and the cardholder’s bank or financial institution (known as the Issuer).

These rates:
• Create a simple regime to underpin and strengthen eftpos’ competitiveness, and
• Support investment in key enhancements to eftpos products.

The rates support initiatives designed to:
• Increase eftpos functionality, and
• Enhance digital payments security.

For more information see Interchange Fee Principles.

Schedule of Interchange Rates

The following Multilateral Interchange rates are prescribed by eftpos pursuant to Clause 33 of the Scheme Rules from 1 July 2019.

# eftpos Prop Card Interchange Fee also used for all Digital standard merchant Transactions until notified by eftpos.

** from a date as notified by eftpos.

Capitalised terms used in the definitions are defined in the eftpos Scheme Rules.

Interchange Fees are not payable for Refunds and Declines.

Electronic and Paper Fallback transactions attract an Interchange Fee at the applicable Purchase rate.

Digital transaction – A transaction performed using a Merchant website or mobile application, rather than a POS terminal.

Purchase transaction – Within the Differential Rate categories, Purchase transaction refers to all channels and Transfer transactions.

Cashout – Has the meaning in the rules and for clarity is a transaction where the cardholder receives cash (Australian notes or coins) from a merchant, either as a standalone transaction, or combined with the purchase of goods or services.

CNP – Card Not Present transactions.