Board of Directors

Photo of Leigh Clapham

Leigh Clapham



Leigh joined the eftpos Board in June 2018. Leigh is an experienced board director currently serving as non executive director with Optal Limited, an unlisted public company specialising in B2B payments. In addition he is non executive chairman of Hong Kong based Optal Asia Limited. Leigh previously held non executive director positions with ASX listed David Jones and with NFP Cure Cancer Australia.

Leigh brings extensive payments industry experience to the eftpos board having served as EVP and GM for Mastercard in Australia and NZ for over six years and in Europe for a further four years.

Photo of Stephen Benton

Stephen Benton

eftpos CEO and Managing Director

Stephen joined eftpos as CEO in May 2018 after five years serving on the eftpos Board as a non-executive Director. He is responsible for the leadership, development and management of the Company’s business activities in line with the Board-approved strategic plan.

Stephen has broad financial service experience.  He has held leadership roles with small and large financial services organisations domestically and internationally, with a track record of delivering innovative customer solutions and business growth. Previously, Stephen was Head of Consumer Finance and Payments for Westpac Group, responsible for credit cards, personal loans, overdrafts and payments for the Westpac Group of brands in Australia.

Photo of Dr Michael Baumann

Dr Michael Baumann

Non-Executive Director

Michael Baumann joined the eftpos Board in March 2018 and is Executive General Manager for Consumer Finance at the Commonwealth Bank of Australia with responsibility for managing the personal loans, personal overdrafts and credit card portfolio for the bank’s retail customers.

Dr Baumann has been involved in many payments related innovations at CBA. Prior to that, Michael worked as General Manager Everyday Banking & Payments, as General Manager Unsecured Lending & Payments and as General Manager in Group Strategy. Prior to joining CBA, Michael was a Principal at the Boston Consulting Group in its Berlin and Sydney offices.

Photo of Shane Harris

Shane Harris

Non-Executive Director

Shane joined the Board in August 2017. He is the Head of Payments at Coles and has held this role since August 2014.  Shane is responsible for the payment strategy, products and services provided to all Coles Group retailers.  Shane has evolved his extensive payments experience over two decades and held various business roles across schemes, issuing, acquiring and retail businesses.

Photo of Dave Hemingway

Dave Hemingway

Non-Executive Director

Dave Hemingway joined the eftpos Board in August 2020 and is the Chief Commercial Officer at Indue and has been a member of the executive team for over four years. Dave’s accountabilities include Sales, Product, Marketing and Industry engagement.

Dave has over 12 years’ experience in banking and financial services related roles across Australia and Asia in various technical, product and executive roles for both small and large organisations.

Photo of Allan Goldring

Allan Goldring

Non-Executive Director

Allan Goldring joined the eftpos Board in June 2019 and is Head of Acquiring and HICAPS, National Australia Bank, accountable for the end to end Merchant Acquiring business across Australia, and HICAPS.

Allan has a Banking and Finance background, accrued over 20 years of working in major Australian Banks. During this time, Allan has gained experience working across the broader cards and payments industry, from design and implementation of credit cards and acquiring solutions, to full accountability for the operating and compliance risk agenda for one of Australian’s largest card issuing and acquiring portfolios.

During Allan’s career, he has had the opportunity to work in a number of geographies across the region, on initiatives as diverse as rebuilding an end-to-end acquiring capability across the South Pacific to establishing a credit card joint venture business in South East Asia.

Photo of Kees Kwakernaak

Kees Kwakernaak

Non-Executive Director

Kees Kwakernaak joined the eftpos Board in July 2017 and is Managing Director at Fiserv Australia & New Zealand. He has over 20 years of management and leadership experience in the corporate payments industry across the Asia Pacific.

Kees is responsible for the Fiserv business across the ANZ region, including the Global Business Solutions (GBS) and Global Financial Services (GFS) businesses.

Kees is also a Director of Australian Payments Network Ltd, First Data Merchant Solutions Australia Pty Ltd, First Data Network Australia Limited, Electronic Banking Solutions Limited, First Data Corporation Australia (Holdings) Pty Limited, First Data Resources Australia Limited, First Data Resources Investments Pty Limited, F.T.S. (NSW) Pty Limited and PaySys International Pty Limited.

Photo of Katherine Ostin

Katherine Ostin

Independent Director

Katherine was appointed to the eftpos Board as an Independent Director in November 2018, bringing extensive experience in audit, assurance, finance, risk, governance, strategy and business development.  Until December 2017, Katherine was a senior Partner in Audit Assurance & Risk Consulting with KPMG holding various leadership roles over her 12.5 years as a Partner.

In her 24 years with KPMG, Katherine has worked across a broad number of sectors, including financial services and technology in Australia, Asia, the US and the UK. She is a Chartered Accountant, Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Fellow of FINSIA.

Katherine has also served as a Non-Executive Director, Audit & Risk Committee Chair and Nominations Committee Chair on a number of not-for-profit organisations.

Photo of Vinay Rao

Vinay Rao

Non-Executive Director

Vinay Rao is the Head of Payments for Woolworths Ltd Australia. Vinay is responsible for the payments strategy, payment services, operational and compliance functions for the Woolworths group. Mr. Rao has nearly 20 years of experience in the financial services industry having held various roles across payments, technology, digital business and enterprise delivery.

Prior to joining Woolworths, Mr. Rao held various positions at ING Direct, CBA and Wesfarmers.

Photo of Sarah Stubbings

Sarah Stubbings

Non-Executive Director

Sarah Stubbings joined the eftpos Board in November 2017 and has 20 plus years’ experience in the financial services sector, including 17 years with ANZ.  Sarah is currently the Head of Home Loan Product at ANZ and has worked in a number of other roles across Retail Banking at ANZ. Sarah is a qualified Chartered Accountant, a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and recently completed the 2017 Williamson Community Leadership Program.

Photo of John Tanevski

John Tanevski

Non-Executive Director

John joined the eftpos Board on 23 January 2020.  He is currently the Head of Payments, Everyday Banking, Deposits and Pricing for Westpac’s Consumer Division.

John has over 25 years of experience in banking, working across a number of business and support units at the Westpac Group.

Photo of Alex Twigg

Alex Twigg

Independent Director

Alex Twigg is a Co-Founder of Judo Bank Limited, with more than 25 years of banking and technology experience. Alex has been recognised as one of Asia's top 100 Fintech leaders. He joined the eftpos board as an Independent Director in March 2018 and is also a member of the Advisory Board to each of, Holdings Pty Ltd and Alex Corporation Ltd.

Previously, Alex was UBank CEO and Group General Manager of Services at Woolworths.